Posted by: Mike Randall | April 16, 2009

The Tiller

Here are some pics of the curvy tiller build. This was fun and extremely satisfying to make and shape. I used the strips I milled from the monster bit of Oregon. The strips had a few more whirls, swirls and small knots than I would of liked. I figured because it was laminated it wouldn’t matter from a strength point of view and would probably look quite good once shaped and varnished.

Glue up of the strips on the curvy jig

Glue up of the strips on the curvy jig


No band saw so the jigsaw and plane had to do for rough shaping

No band saw so the jigsaw and plane had to do for rough shaping


Rough, fast but effective

Rough, fast but effective


Details with a surform and block plane

Details with a surform and block plane

I have a spoke shave, but haven’t had any time to set it up properly, probably would have been perfect for this job.

The finished tiller with knob!

The finished tiller with knob!

I just need to tweak the fit on the end that goes in the rudder mortise then this is done.


Leave a comment

Categories